Issue: October Vol: 2012
archived issues


[p.1] Area 8 Director Election

[p.2] Bill Kephart Endorsement

[p.3] Bathurst 1000

[p.4] Mission Accomplished!

[p.5] BFGoodrich Tires SCCA Workers of the Year Honored on Wednesday Night at Road America

[p.6] It was finally my turn to race

[p.7] 2013 Pirelli World Challenge Schedule Announced

[p.8] SnakeBytes

[p.9] SCCA draws crowd at Lincoln Tech

[p.10] EyeCandy

[p.11] Classifieds

[p.12] Advertisers Quick Reference

BFGoodrich Tires SCCA Workers of the Year Honored on Wednesday Night at Road America


Elkhart Lake, Wis. (September 19, 2012) – The 2012 winners of the BFGoodrich Tires SCCA Club Racing Worker of the Year Awards were handed out at Road American on Wednesday evening as part of the SCCA National Championship Runoffs®.

One BFGoodrich Tires “Worker of the Year” award was given to a member in each of the nine SCCA divisions, regardless of specialty. Each of those nine Divisional winners are given a set of BFGoodrich Tires and a patch, plaque and jacket to commemorate the achievement.

To award a grand prize winner, the nine finalist’s names were put into a hat. Joi Robinson, a Grid & Pit worker from Cal Club Region, was selected for the top bill.

The grand prize, a trip to the Mobil 1 Twelve Hours of Sebring at Sebring International Raceway, will include airfare, lodging, tickets, track hospitality, golf cart for use during the weekend and pit and paddock tours, all courtesy of BFGoodrich Tires.

“Thank you to all the workers for all the time you put in,” Jeff Dahnert, SCCA President and CEO, said while addressing the more than 380 volunteer workers in attendance. “I’ve talked to a number of people already this week, and they all say that the SCCA workers stand above everyone. My hat’s off to you.”

Special mention awards were presented to Dave Rollow and Duck Waddle by F Production racer Mark Weber. Weber will be making his record 50th start at the SCCA National Championship Runoffs on Sunday afternoon, which is also his 500th career SCCA Club Racing start. To commemorate the occasion, Weber awarded Rollow a commemorative helmet and Waddle an SCCA jacket. Both were selected for their longevity as volunteers at the Runoffs, with each working more than 43 of the events.

In addition to the Worker of the Year award, BFGoodrich Tires Motorsport Manager Peter Calhoun hosted a drawing for the six BFGoodrich Tires Super Tour category winners, awarding one with a Indocil Art custom-painted Bell Helmet. David Pintaric, the point champion on the big bore category, saw his name pulled as the winner.

This year’s winners BFGoodrich Tires Worker of the Year are:

  • Central Division: Dennis Troemel, Scrutineer, Milwaukee Region
  • Great Lakes Division: Wayne Briggs, Sound, Cincinnati Region
  • Midwest Division: Monica Shaw, Race Administration, Des Moines Valley Region
  • Northeast Division: Kyle Colbey, Timing & Scoring, Glen Region
  • Northern Pacific Division: Sherri Masterson, Registration, Northwest Region
  • Rocky Mountain Division: Ed Shuler, Flagging & Communication, Colorado Region
  • Southeast Division: Paul Gauzens, Steward, Atlanta Region
  • Southern Pacific Division: Joi Robinson, Grid & Pit, Cal Club Region
  • Southwest Division: Richard Kantrud, Steward, Texas Region

A list of all previous Worker of the Year winners is available at Follow all the live timing and scoring at Live Twitter stream is available @SCCALive. Follow this week’s activities on Facebook at

Image: (L-R) Peter Calhoun of BFGoodrich Tires and Worker of the Year Joi Robinson.
Credit: SCCA Photos